Eggplant Rollups (with sun-dried tomatoes, basil leaves and bleu cheese)

February 3, 2010

When I first came to the United States as a grad student, my university paired me with a host family who had generously volunteered to help and orient a new foreign student in their city. The Taubes were a wonderful family and I enjoyed learning about the American life through them.

It was at my host family’s place that I had eggplant rollups for the first time. Till then I had only had eggplant, or baingan as we call it in India, in the form of the fire-roasted Bhartha, or the stir-fried Aloo-Baingan. This new dish was a revelation for me as I had never realized that our Baingan Raja could taste so sophisticated, yet earthy at the same time.

Many years later, as I was remembering that wonderful taste, I wrote an email to my hostess and asked her if she could share the recipe with me and here is the recipe that she sent to me. Thanks Michelle! :)

“We slice the eggplant length wise about 1/4 inch thick then brush it with olive oil and add garlic and herbs if you like such as rosemary, thyme or oregano.  Then put it on a baking sheet and broil it briefly on each side until soft but be careful not to burn.   Place a piece of oil packed sundried tomato, a basil leaf and some blue cheese on one end and then roll it up.  A toothpick to secure it is optional.”

I sometimes substitute the bleu cheese with goat cheese. Any soft cheese with a strong flavor will do. Also remember to season the eggplant with salt and black pepper before broiling it.

Enjoy!

The eggplant rollups being reheated on the grill

The eggplant rollups being reheated on the grill

4 Responses to “Eggplant Rollups (with sun-dried tomatoes, basil leaves and bleu cheese)”

  1. Anjana said

    Congrats! I am excited about your blog:)
    Eggplant rollups look awesome. I feel like picking one up from the pic:) Do you use any particular type of eggplant for this considering they come in different sizes?

    • The Intrepid Cook said

      Thanks Anjana! I used the big ones that can be sliced into long slices. But I think you can use any long eggplants. They taste fabulous!

  2. Neha said

    Is this the pic from our bbq party? :) Yum yum yum

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

