Bread baking 101

April 12, 2010

Four different kinds of breads

See what I made in my Bread Baking 101 class at the School of Culinary Arts at Kendall college!

There is the focaccia bread on the left, with two different toppings. Right next to it, towards the top of the picture, is the nice crusty baguette (with one end broken off because I had to have it hot and slathered with European butter and could not wait till after I take the picture.) The baguette is followed by the sourdough bread roll, and. finally, at the bottom right, the star of the show, the braided challah bread.

They were all fairly easy to make and taste, oh, so delicious. I am surely going to be making them again at home one by one. I will write up the recipes as I go along, for posterity. In case there is special interest in any particular bread, let me know and I have will have a go at that one first.

A big thanks to S for telling me about this class and for being my very excited class partner.

7 Responses to “Bread baking 101”

  1. Neha said

    Yummy! Looking forward to the recipes.

  2. Sowmya said

    You are always welcome Isha :)It was wonderful to work with you in the kitchen and eagerly waiting for our next class together!!!!

  3. Anjana said

    Waw!! Looks wonderful especially braided challah bread. Is this a semester long class ..”101″ sounds like that:))

    • The Intrepid Cook said

      No sadly it was just a one time thing. Though they have weekly classes in which they teach different things like knife skills, meat cooking, sea food etc. I am going to one next week for French desserts. I am sure you would have loved that one.

  4. Anjana said

    yup! I want to attend the French desserts class!! Would love to hear ur experiences. Next time over the phone:)

  5. tastyveggy said

    nothing like the smell of fresh bread baking
    looks fun class

    • The Intrepid Cook said

      It was so fun in fact that I went to another one at the same culinary school where we made some yummy desserts from Julia Child’s cookbook. I will be posting about that soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

